South Asia Laadli awards on May 12

10 May,2017

By A Correspondent


Population First will hold the first edition of The South Asia Laadli Media & Advertising Award for Gender Sensitivity 2015-16 will felicitate 37 media professionals who have exemplary sensitivity in reporting on gender issues. The awards will be presented by the Chief Guest of the event Dr Shashi Tharoor (though given the Republic exposes, we aren’t certain that he will make it) and hosted by the journalist-entrepreneur Barkha Dutt. The awards event will be held on May 12 in Mumbai.


Said Dr AL Sharada, Director of Population First: “From a mere 100 entries in 2007 to more than 1500 entries in 2015, Laadli Media Awards have come a long way in acknowledging the media’s contribution in women empowerment and gender issues. The increasing volume of discussion in public domain on gender issues is an indication that we are witnessing the beginnings of change Also the partnership with Colors is a refreshing start to the new edition and indeed helps us to sustain the impact and reach of the awards. Today, with the expansion of Laadli to other developing nations through the support of IAA, we look forward to stories pertaining to gender from five South Asian countries. We hope to continue this momentum, and create a long standing impact of changing the society riddled with patriarchal mindsets”.


Added Ramesh Narayan, Vice President, IAA: “We are very happy to lend our support to this meaningful award. Our chapters and associates in Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Mauritius, Nepal and Bangladesh are working on selecting one journalist in each country who has done wonderful work in the area of gender sensitivity and that person will be nominated to receive the special IAA Laadli South Asia Media Award.”


The South Asia Laadli Media & Advertising Award for Gender Sensitivity 2015-16 for the category ‘Best Short Film’ will be presented to Radhika Puri for her short film ‘Water Wives’ which digs into the existing system of husbands marrying multiple times inorder to have wives double as labourers to fetch water. The award for ‘Books in the Novella’ category  will be awarded to Volga for her book Liberation of Sita published by Harper Collins.   ‘Parched’ and ‘Neel BatteySannatta’ will be presented awards in the films category.


The ‘Best Advertising Campaign’ award will be given to ‘Vicks’ for its portrayal of the third gender. The Laadli Media Award for ‘Game Changer’ will be presented to ‘NayiSoch’ by Star India.  The Lifetime Achievement award will be presented to KamlaBhasin, a leading women’s rights activist.


The jury for the Laadli Media awards including leading professionals like KV ‘Pops’ Sridhar, Sameera Khan, DeepaGahlot, Dilip D’Souza, Kumar Ketkar, Amrita Chowdhury, Amy Fernandes, Kalpana Sharma, Gurbir Singh, AyazMemon, Namita Roy Ghose, KiranKhalap, NamrataZakaria andNeeru Nanda.


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.