IAA joins hands with Laadli to take Media Awards for Gender Sensitivity across South Asia

17 Apr,2017

By A Correspondent


The International Advertising Association (IAA) is supporting the Laadli Media Awards for Gender Sensitivity to take the national awards across South Asia.


In its tenth year now, the South Asia Laadli Media Awards for Gender Sensitivity 2015-16 is being organised in association with International Advertising Association (IAA). The event will be held at National Centre for Performing Arts, Mumbai, India on May 12, 2017.


The awards are supported by UNFPA and this year, Colors is associated as the cause partner.

Said Srinivasan K Swamy Senior Vice President IAA Global and Chairman RK Swamy BBDO:  “The IAA India Chapter has had a long association with Laadli and the subject of gender sensitivity, so supporting their Media Awards in the South Asia region seemed a natural corollary. This not just showcases the IAA’s keen interest in such activities, but also its ability to spread a good message across boundaries.


Added Ramesh Narayan Vice President IAA: “We are very happy to lend our support to this meaningful award. Our Chapters and Associates in Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Mauritius, Nepal and Bangladesh are working on selecting one journalist in each country who has done wonderful work in the area of gender sensitivity and that person will be nominated to receive the special IAA Laadli South Asia Media Award.


Said Dr A. Sharada, CEO, Laadli: “The objective of The Laadli Media Awards is to draw the attention of the public to the positive efforts in the media with regard to gender sensitive reportage and provide a platform for showcasing such efforts. It does not focus on visible achievers but on media persons who are reporting from the field level – analyzing laws, policies, programmes, events and incidents using a gender lens.  Every year entries are sought from all over India. More than 1500 entries are received each year from across the nation from print, electronic and web media. Around 80 awards are given under 13 languages across the country, in each of the rounds.”


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.

Today's Top Stories