The Mediaah! Dubious Achievement Awards 2015

31 Dec,2015


Here they are again: our awards for the most outstanding, albeit dubious, achievements in the year. Please do remember this is a fun feature that MxMIndia carries annually and the objective is to enjoy at the expense of others and ourselves.


The Let’s Get This as Wrong as We Can Award: To Dr Prannoy Roy of NDTV for heading the panel that called the Bihar Assembly elections in favour of the BJP. For those who remember, the BJP lost and the Grand Alliance of RJD-JD(U) and Congress won.

The Let’s Get This Wrong By Saying One Thing and Then the Opposite Without Blinkng Award goes to Shekhar Gupta, for blaming Nitish Kumar for losing the Bihar elections and then immediately changing his tack when it turned out that Nitish Kumar had won.

The How To Protect Your Friends at the Cost of Your Professional Integrity Award to all senior editors who have tried to protect Arun Jaitley from the onslaught of Arvind Kejriwal and Kirti Azad in the allegations of corruption against the Delhi cricket administration.

The Noble Peace Prize for bring in harmony and peace in Bollywood to Salman Khan and Shah Rukh Khan for coming together in a Bigg Boss mega-epsiode on Colors and professing enormous love for each other

The Nirupa Roy Award for younger sibling gaining over older, bigger one to Zee Entertainment with Zee Anmol marching ahead of Zee in the BARC urban+rural ratings

The Mera Gaon Mera Desh award to Zee Anmol… how rural ratings just turned things on its head in the broadcast industry

The What Do You Mean The BJP Lost Award To all Indian News Channels who could not believe the evidence in front of them which went against their exit polls for the Bihar elections.

The Big Moose Big Bully Award to the broadcasters and newspapers who attempted to bully the measurement agency – BARC and MRUC – on data release

The Surf Excel Wash in Linen Award to The Times of India and Hindustan Times for washing dirty linen on the IRS issue. Thankfully, better sense prevailed.

The Roger Federer now I am No 1, Now I am Not Award to:  It’s the leader alright, but 2015 has seen its lead over rivals diminishing and there are weeks when it’s No 2, now post-Anmol, even No!


The Arvind Kejriwal Odd-Even award: To Star Plus and Colors for alternating leadership… Star Plus is no longer the clear leader and has been facing heat in the last six months


The Swachh Bharat Award for Clean-up-in-Waiting Award: FCB Ulka. With Rohit Ohri set to join, even though the agency is doing rather well, there is much talk about a clean-up of operations and the top deck


The Hum Honge Kaamyaab Award:  To Ashish Bhasin and the Dentsu Aegis Network in India for his goal to make his network the No 2. In this case though, it’s Hum Honge Kaamyaab not ek din, but Bhasin wants it happening by 2017.


The Let’s Not Use the One Exit Poll That Actually Got It Right Award to CNN-IBN for not using the one exit poll that got it right.


The Who Needs to Be An Objective Journalist When You Can Gain So Much More by Being a Sycophant Award to all of Delhi’s journalists who spent an entire press briefing with the prime minister taking selfies with the prime minister instead of asking questions.


Also: The iPhone 6S Selfies Unlimited Award to journos wanting selfies


The Threatening to Quit Before Appraisals Award to Kapil Sharma to always threaten to quit Colors whenever questions are raised about the ratings of his popular weekend show


The How to Upset the Management and Government In Spite of Being Ultra-Pro Government Award to for carrying a mildly critical piece on Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitely and then promptly taking it down.


The Bumper Diwali Sale Award not to the usual contenders like Amazon, Snapdeal or Flipkart but The Times of India. All the e-com biggies fought full0page wars against each other and TOI was laughing all the way to the bank


The Aamir Khan Intolerance Award to Arnab Goswani. Everyone claims they can’t tolerate him, yet they can’t stop watching him


The Virat Kohli #$$&#@ Award  to AIB.  Why #$$&#@? Well,  %#$^#$&%$&%$&! J


The Mr  India Award to Sony Entertainment… the channel has disappeared from the radar. Even when it didn’t muster top ratings, the buzz levels have always been high… KBC, Indian Idol, etc. Now it appears to have lost its mojo


The Nishaan-E-Pakistan Award to Barkha Dutt, for her coverage on India-Pakistan issues. Pakistan couldn’t have asked for a better ambassador (and friend) in the media


The Nishaan-E-Pakistan Award to Arnab Goswami for how he loves to attack the country even there is good news like Narendra Modi dropping by for chai at Nawaz Sharif residence.


The Kores Carbon Paper Award to the Reliance Jio celebrity management and social media agency for messing up big time on tweets from celebs on the Reliance Jio soft launch


And finally:

The ShekChilli Award  to MxMIndia. Have you seen any other media website taking on the big and mighty?


Contributed by Ranjona Banerji, Pradyuman Maheshwari and a few readers who have requested anonymity


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.