Journalists awarded at 3rd Shriram Sanlam Awards

18 May,2015



Shriram Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism was conducted in a widely attended glittering function at the Shangri-la’s Eros in New Delhi last week. The highlight of the event was a key-note address delivered by Gideon Rachman, Chief Foreign Affairs Commentator, Financial Times.


For the first time ever, the top 100 nominations found its coverage in a special booklet released on the occasion by Suresh Prabhu, Hon. Union Minister of Railways, Government of India.


TCA Srinivasa Raghavan was conferred with the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award and A V Rajwade was conferred with the special Hall Of Fame Award at the Shriram Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism by the Chief guest, Hon. Union Minister of Railways, Government of India, Suresh Prabhu in the presence of Ajay Piramal (Chairman, Shriram Capital Limited) and Ian Kirk (Deputy CEO, Sanlam Group) amongst others. Winners and runner-ups in various categories included:


1. Economic Policy – No Winner Announced

2. Financial Markets –Winner : Debashis Basu , Runner Up -: Devangshu Datta
3. Financial Institutions – Winner: Raghu Mohan, Runner Up: Atmadip Ray & M. Rajshekhar
4. Sectoral Issues – Winner:  Aarati Krishnan , Runner Up : Goutam Das & N. Madhavan


G.S. Sundararajan, Wholetime Director, Shriram Capital Limited said, “The winners of Shriram Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism 2014 represent the best of that fraternity. Shriram Capital and Sanlam recognize that the potential of Financial Journalism and the positive impact it can create to the economy as a whole. These awards are aimed at encouraging a transformational approach to Financial Journalism in the medium term.”


Institute for Financial Management and Research (IFMR), Chennai played an important and independent role in the selection process by scrutinizing the nominations and making them available for the Jury Members for their consideration.


The distinguished panel of independent jury members comprises Gopal Srinivasan (Chairman & Managing Director – TVS Capital Ltd.); Srinivasan K. Swamy (Chairman & Managing Director, R. K. Swamy BBDO); Ashu Suyash (MD & CEO, CRISIL); Adit Jain (Chairman, IMA Asia), Swaminathan S. Aiyar, Consulting Editor of Economic Times and T. N. Ninan (Chairman, Business Standard).


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.