It’s here. Kyoorius Ad Awards on June 12

12 Mar,2014


By A Correspondent


Kyoorius, a not-for-profit initiative by Transasia Fine Papers and D&AD have unveiled details of the Kyoorius Advertising Awards to be held on June 12 in Mumbai.


Rajesh Kejriwal

Announcing this to the media and later a select group of industry captains, Rajesh Kejriwal, Founder CEO, Kyoorius and Tim Lindsay, CEO, D&AD underscored the emphasis to ‘merit’ at the inaugural edition. “We will only award work that is worthy of the award. No matter how big the brand, or how small the names behind it and how wide the media reach is or the number of re-tweets, the ultimate goal is to create outstanding work that works,” said Kejriwal. The Kyoorius Awards will have no winning tier structure - no gold, silver or bronze, and it is the jury’s prerogative to award one or multiple entries in any one category, whereas none in another, if entries are not up to the mark. The Award to be given away to each winner is called the ‘Blue Elephant’ while the ‘Best of Show’ will be the ‘Black Elephant’.



Tim Lindsay

According to Lindsay, who has had experience of overseeing the Indian operations of Lowe when he worked with the agency network, D&AD has big plans for India. “We have expanded the awards to include advertising and digital alongside the existing design and student categories. Moreover, our’s is a not-for-profit initiative and through the Kyoorius Awards, we will plough back all our profits to the industry and the talent here,” he said.


For the advertising awards, international jury members include Rosie Arnold – Deputy Executive Creative Director, BBH, as Jury Foreman, accompanied by Graham Kelly – Regional Executive Creative Director, Isobar, and Woon Siew Hoh – Regional Executive Creative Director, Hakuhudo. From India, jury members include Abhijit Avasthi – Executive Creative Director, Ogilvy & Mather, Agnello Dias – Chairman & Co-Founder, Taproot India, Senthil Kumar – National Creative Director, JWT, and Sonal Dabral – Chairman & Chief Creative Officer, DBB Mudra Group with more to be added soon.


The entries will be accepted from March 20 onwards and the deadline for entries is April 21 with April 28 being the last date for postal entries. While the first round of judging will be done online, the entiry jury will assemble in Delhi in May 2014 over three or more days to select the winners from the shortlists.


Meanwhile, the Abby Awards which will be held from May 29-31 has not yet announced its jury presidents or call for entries.




Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.