N Ram, Kuldip Nayyar & 20 others presented Press Club Mumbai RedInk Awards

27 May,2013

By A Correspondent


The Press Club Mumbai’s RedInk Awards 2013 for excellence in journalism were presented on Saturday, May 25 at the NCPA’s Tata Theatre. RedInk trophy and prize money of Rs 1 lakh in each category were awarded to the winners and runners-up.


Maharashtra Governor K Sankaranarayanan conferred the RedInk Life Time Achievement Awards upon veteran journalists  Kuldip Nayar and N Ram. The award for Mr Nayar was received by his wife Bharti Nayyar. Broadcaster Star India won the RedInk Awards for Excellence in Journalism for its issue-based reality show ‘Satyamev Jayate‘.


Manish Tewari, Union minister for Information and Broadcasting was the guest of honour for the event. The scintillating awards evening regaled the 600-plus audience with an inward looking debate on the profession of journalism, titled ‘Keeping Media Free & Fair’ hosted by Times Now Editor-in-Chief Arnab Goswami, with media veterans N Ram and Uday Shankar (the Star India CEO was a former journalist) and Mr Tewari.


During this occasion, Manish Tewari called for a robust self regulation regime for media organisations in the country.  “Content regulation in the media space is not going to come out of political executive, but will come out of the judicial process. Make self-regulation more inclusive and robust to keep out judicial intervention.”  “With exponential growth in the media space, a paradigm shift has taken place, wherein regulations have to keep pace with changing technologies and have to be universal,” Mr Tewari said.


Mr Sankaranarayanan had the audience in splits as he spoke beyond his prepared speech. “During the last few years, the media has brought out scores of cases of corruption and wrongdoings by public servants and officials. They have also exposed wrongdoings by private organizations and individuals”.



Category Rank Name Publication
Sports Winner Aditya Iyer The Indian Express
Runner-Up Akshay Sawai Open
Health & Environment Joint Winner Santosh Andhale DNA
Joint Winner Vinod Kumar Menon Mid-Day
Runner-Up Reji Joseph Deepika Daily, Kerala
Television Story Joint Runner-Up Manu Kumar Manorama News
Joint Runner-Up Brajesh Rajput ABP News
Science & Innovation Winner Priyanka Pulla Open
Runner-Up Mohan Sundara Rajan The Hindu
Picture of the Year Winner Raju Shinde Mumbai Mirror
Runner-Up Atul Kamble Mid-Day
Entertainment & Media Winner Samanth Subramaniam Caravan
Runner-Up Rekha Dixit The Week
Politics Joint Winner Samanth Subramanian Caravan
Joint Winner Nauzer Bharucha The Times of India
Runner-Up Aman Sethi The Hindu
Business Winner Joe C Mathew BusinessWorld
Runner-Up Khyati Dharamsi The Economic Times
Crime Winner Priyanka Dubey Tehelka
Runner-Up Ratnadip Chowdhary Tehelka

List courtesy: Press Club, Mumbai


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.