These 11 members of the Creative Abby ‘superjury’ could decide the future of Indian advertising! [Updated]

16 Apr,2013

By A Correspondent


Running the Awards Governing Council (AGC) is a thankless job. Getting gaalis for no real fault and innumerable doubts being raised on their credentials.


Ever since Goafest 2013 ended, the AGC has been working overtime with procedural errors and complaints. At first it was the Leo Burnett radio spots which the client Tata Chemicals got the agency to pull from the awards. And then started a series of complaints alleging sameness in the creative (read plagiarism). One of these on DHL Express created by BBDO Proximity was even taken up the AGC and some metals were withdrawn leading to BBDO chief Josy Paul lambasting the decision.


The Proposed Superjury

Integrated: Prasoon Joshi (McCann)

Film: Senthil Kumar (JWT)

Film Craft: Piyush Panjwani (Equus)

Print: Agnello Dias (Taproot)

Print Craft: Josy Paul (BBDO)

Brand Content: K S Chakraborty (DraftFCB Ulka)

OOH: Sonal Dabral (DDB Mudra)

Design: Rakhshin Patel (M&C Saatchi-i)

Radio and Radio craft: Nitesh Tiwari (Leo Burnett)

Design: Prashant Kalyankar (KA Advertising)

Digital: Carlton D’Silva (Hungama)


The complaints kept coming in, forcing AGC chairperson Shashi Sinha to ask the media to put in a notice that no complaints would be allowed after the evening of Friday, April 12.


However, what possibly led to this decision of setting up a ‘superjury’ by the Awards Governing Council comprising the chairpersons of the 12 categories that constituted the Creative Abby (see box), was that not everyone among certain agencies was happy that complaints filed against their award-winning creatives were judged by junior members of the fraternity.


According to Shashi Sinha, chairperson of the AGC, the meeting will be held within three to four days, though one industryperson told us it could even take over a week. The decision to have chairpersons of the various creative juries will, it is hoped, ensure an end to all charges of favouritism and juniors taking critical decisions. While the ‘superjury’ will discuss and deliberate on each of the disputed creatives, the final voting will be via secret ballot. Note: the ‘superjury’ will only look at the complaints on creative issues like a certain ad being similar to another released earlier.


MxMIndia was unable to ascertain whether all the 11 members of the proposed superjury have agreed to be part of this extraordinary meeting.


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.

Today's Top Stories