India TV Yuva Awards honour the rising stars

20 Feb,2013

By A Correspondent


In a glittering ceremony held recently in the capital, Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav was given the most popular youth icon India TV Yuva Award in the politics (male) category. The event was laced with the presence of politicians, industrialists, actors and eminent sportsmen.


Chhavi Rajawat, a young MBA-educated girl working as a sarpanch in Rajasthan village bagged the India TV Yuva Award for best youth icon in the politics (female) category. Team India cricketer Yuvraj Singh was given the best youth icon (male) award in the sports category by BJP president Rajnath Singh. Olympic bronze-winner Manipur boxer Mary Kom got the best youth icon (female) award in the sports category.


Pratyusha Banerjee of the ‘Balika Vadhu’ fame bagged the best TV actor (female) award. Siddharth Shukla, best known as Collector Saheb in Balika Vadhu, received the best TV actor (male) award.


In the Business category, Balaji Telefilms owner Ekta Kapoor bagged the best youth icon (female) award, and Indiabulls group co-owners Sameer Gehlaut and Rajiv Rattan won the best youth icon (male) award.


In the Music category, Mamta Sharma won the best youth icon (female) award, while Sonu Nigam won the best youth icon (male) award. Three youth icon awards were also given in the Special category to Bollywood actor John Abraham, Manish Paul and Rani Mukherjee.


India TV Chairman and Editor-in-Chief Rajat Sharma said, “The Yuva Awards given to youth icons in the fields of politics, sports, music, television and business were an aspirational salute to young men and women, who through their grit and determination have inspired people and have shown exemplary leadership and extraordinary excellence with achievements much bigger than their age.”


The winners were decided on the basis of a stringent process of nominations through a nationwide research by a well known research agency followed by audience votes. The Jury was chaired by Sarod Maestro Ustad Amjad Ali Khan and included the Chairman & editor in chief, India TV Rajat Sharma, cricketing legend Kapil Dev, VLCC founder Padmshri Vandana Luthra and Prof. Pushpesh Pant.


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.