IAA awards media & marketing honchos at leadership awards

03 Feb,2013

Srinivasan K Swamy with I&B Minister Manish Tewari


By A Correspondent


ITC CEO YC Deveshwar, Madison World CEO Sam Balsara and Ogilvy & Mather CEO Piyush Pandey were amongst the award-winners at the first ever International Advertising Association (IAA) Leadership Awards held in Mumbai on Saturday. Information and Broadcasting Minister Manish Tewari was chief guest of the evening.


The International Advertising Association is the world’s only globally-focused integrated advertising trade association with membership representing Advertisers. Agencies and the Media. Well-known research firm The Nielsen Company and consulting firm Ernst & Young were associated with the event that was organised and sponsored by the Colors general entertainment channel.


Popular television artist Mini Mathur emceed the evening as the fraternity was welcomed by IAA’s India chapter president Srinivasan K Swamy and Colors CEO Raj Nayak. In his address, the I&B minister asked the industry to mull over pressing issues like ad duration in channels, effective viewership measurement, adding that the government will not institute any regulations without consulting the industry.

Award Categoy Awardee
Marketer of the Year: Travel & Hospitality  Manish Kalra, Make My  trip
Marketer of the Year: Banking  Sujit Ganguli, ICICI Bank
Marketer of the Year: Insurance  Rita Bhattacharya, LIC
Marketer of the Year: Media & Entertainment  Gayatri Yadav, Star India
Marketer of the Year: Household Products  Amit Syngle, Asian Paints
Marketer of the Year: FMCG – Personal Care  Arun Srinivas, HUL
Marketer of the Year: FMCG – Food & Beverages  Chandramouli Venkatesan, Cadbury Kraft India
Marketer of the Year: FMCG – Consumer Durables  Rahul Saighal, Samsung Appliances
Marketer of the Year : Auto Two Wheeler Anil Dua, Hero Motocorp
Marketer of the Year: Auto Commercial vehicles  UT Ramprasad , Tata Motors
Marketer of the Year: Auto Passenger Vehicles  Mr. Mayank Pareek, Maruti Suzuki
Marketer of the Year: Telecom Products  Anuradha Aggarwal, Vodafone
Media Agency Head of the Year  Sam Balsara, Madison World
Creative Agency Head of the Year  Piyush Pandey for Ogilvy & Mather India
Best CEO  Y C Deveshwar, ITC
News Anchor of the year  Rajdeep Sardesai, CNN-IBN
Editor of the year  Jaideep Bose, The Times of India
Mediaperson of the year  Shobhana Bhartia, HT Media
Brand Endorser of the year – Female  Katrina Kaif
Brand Endorser of the year – Male  Salman Khan
IAA Hall of Fame  Pradeep Guha


Also amongst the winners was Bollywood actor Salman Khan who made his first ever appearance at an awards function with IAA Leadership Awards. The actor known to have bagged maximum endorsements and is on a high with brands queuing to sign him, bagged the award for the Brand Endorser of the Year – Male. Katrina Kaif was awarded Brand Endorser of the Year – Female. Mr Pradeep Guha, former IAA president who has been CEO, Zee Entertainment and President, Bennett Coleman and Company Ltd was admitted to the IAA’s Hall of Fame with the lifetime achievement award.


Marketers from across 12 categories were among the awardwinners as also were Editor of the Year (Jaideep Bose) and News Anchor of the Year (Rajdeep Sardesai). Shobhana Bhartia, chairperson of  HT Media, was awarded the Mediaperson of the Year award. The table above has the list of winners.

Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.