Jaldi 5 with Srinivasan K Swamy: IAA awards will recognize successful marketers, agency and media professionals

18 Dec,2012

The International Advertising Association’s India chapter announced the IAA Leadership Awards yesterday (Monday, December 17). The objective of the awards is to recognize individuals in the fields of marketing, advertising and media, who have made enormous professional contributions and delivered business success to their companies. The inaugural awards are to be held in February 2013 with I&B Minister Manish Tewari as Chief Guest.


In an interview with MxMIndia, Srinivasan K Swamy, President of International Advertising Association and CMD, RK Swamy BBDO, spoke on the awards, the intent behind them and how they will be different from the others.


01. Personality awards always get ‘political’. Why did the IAA get into this activity?

Company or Brand Awards do not recognize adequately  individual’s contribution. If the process is transparent, which is what we will ensure through Nielsen research team and audit by Ernst & Young of that, we believe we can avoid all controversies. The IAA membership comprises individuals from advertisers, advertising agencies and the media. It is therefore most appropriate that IAA honours individuals from these related fields in a common platform.


02. How will you ensure that every one from amongst the fraternity participates in the voting?

There can be no guarantee that everyone will vote. But efforts will be on to ensure that many votes will be gathered to ascertain the true winner in the chosen category.


03. In many ways, the award appears to be quite like the Impact Person of the Year award, run by the exchange4media group. The selection process is similar. They had AC Nielsen earlier and now IMRB. You have Nielsen. IAA of course has E&Y to audit and validate the process. Your comments?

The Impact Person of the Year chooses only one individual. We will have many CMO winners from various marketing categories, best advertiser CEO, best creative agency CEO, best media agency CEO, best news anchor, best news editor etc. We believe there has been no attempt so far to bring so many successful marketers, agency personnel and media people together and applaud their outstanding contribution.


04.  Will there be a ‘lifetime achievement award’ too?

There will be a Lifetime Achievement Award. More on that on the awards night!


The AAAI used to have one, but it appears to have discontinued…?

AAAI has not discontinued it.


05. On a lighter note, why did you award Nielsen and not Hansa for the initial research process?

Isn’t it obvious?  Why create an impression of conflict of interest?


Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.