Aviva wins corporate sustainability film award in the UK

07 Nov,2012

By A Correspondent


In recognition of the impact of the Aviva Great Wall of Education, Aviva India was recently awarded the Television for the Environment (tve) Corporate Sustainability Film Award (CSFA). Aviva received the Runners Up trophy at the CSFA for a documentary on the Aviva Great Wall of Education titled ‘Journey of a Book’. The film encapsulates the journey of the mega book donation drive, which, over the last 3 years, has collected more than 2 million books, and has reached out to more than 500,000 underprivileged children.


The documentary film, produced by BBDO India, was shortlisted as one of the three finalists in the Community Investment Category. Gay Huey Evans, Aviva plc Board Member and Marie Sigsworth Director CR, Aviva plc, received the Award at a glittering ceremony at the prestigious BAFTA head quarters in London.


Speaking on the occasion, Gaurav Rajput, Director – Marketing & Products, Aviva Life Insurance said, “It’s a great honour to be recognized at such a prestigious platform, for the effort that we have put in to make this initiative a success. Aviva Great Wall of Education was launched as a one-city initiative in 2009 as a part of our corporate responsibility programme Street to School. Over the last 3 years, it has become a national movement helping thousands of underprivileged children move closer to education. Till date, we have reached out to over 500,000 underprivileged children, and hope to continue to make a difference in the lives of many more children.”


Tve hosted the first ever Corporate Sustainability Film Awards to acknowledge and felicitate corporates using creative films to share innovative sustainability ideas and inspire change for a better world. The judges panel comprised of the renowned professionals from sustainability and film production sector including Paul Brett – Director, Prescience Film Finance; Denise Parkinson – Entertainment Partnerships Director, Yahoo; Esther McLachlan – General Manager, Sustainability, Sony Europe; Mei Sim Lai OBE – Master, Worshipful Company of World Traders Guild; Janine Honour – Ethical Trade Associate, ASOS; Rukmini Rao – President, Gramya Resource Centre for Women; Hattie Park – Manager, Environmental Sustainability, BBC; Karin Laljani – Managing Director, Corporate Citizenship, and was chaired by Nick Nuttall – Acting Director, Division of Communication and Public information, Spokesperson, UNEP. CSFA received 17 entries from North America, Latin America Europe and Asia for its inaugural.


Related Stories

Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.

Today's Top Stories