Press Club Awards for Excellence In Journalism

19 Apr,2012

By A Correspondent


The Press Club Mumbai has received overwhelming participation from journalists all over India for its prestigious ‘Press Club Awards for Excellence in Journalism-2012’. With over 500 entries, participation has gone up more than 4-fold from last year. Currently, judging the entries is underway and the final Awards will be held in Mumbai on May 5, 2012 at the NSCI Club, Worli.


The Awards will be conferred for excellence in print journalism in six categories for best writing in ‘Crime’, ‘Cricket’, ‘Entertainment’, ‘Health & Environment’, ‘Politics’ and ‘Business’; in addition to the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism’. Citations and prize money of Rs1 lakh in each category will be awarded to the winners and runners-up from each category by eminent journalists and corporate partners.


The past couple of months witnessed over 500 entries from journalists pan-India. The jury finalising the winners comprises prominent journalists and personalities including Sanjay Manjrekar, Ayaz Memon, Sambit Bal, Brett Lee, Clive Lloyd, Shabana Azmi, Khalid Mohammad, Amit Khanna, Mahesh Jethmalani, Meenal Baghel, Uday Kotak, N. Jagannathan, Bittu Saighal, Cyrus Guzder, Vithal Kamat, Yogendra Yadav, Vinod Sharma and Paranjoy Guha Thakurta.


The Press Club Awards for Excellence in Journalism have been instituted to promote best practices among journalists and encourages good quality writing, fair play and high ethical standards.


The response from corporate partners too has also been immense with 6 corporate brands coming on board to back the awards. These include Podar Enterprise for the K.N.Prabhu Award for Cricket Writing, Yes Bank for the Best Business Writer,

Glenmark Pharmaceuticals for the Environment / Health Awards, MCHI for the Political Story of the Year, Eros International for the Entertainment category and the Adani Group for Lifetime Achievement.



Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.

Today's Top Stories