Rockstar wins album of the year at Radio Mirchi Awards

23 Mar,2012

By A Correspondent


The fourth Mirchi Music Awards honoured music talent across 24 categories as Radio Mirchi paid its tribute to music with much extravaganza and fanfare. Royal Stag was the title sponsor of Mirchi Music Awards. The awards were held on Wednesday, March 21, 2012.


Bollywood personalities like Saif Ali Khan, Shreya Ghoshal and Bappi Lahiri, Mika, Sonu Nigam, Shankar Ehsaan Loy, Lalit Pandit, Salim-Suleiman, Ram Sampath, Sajid Wajid and Leslie Lewis were also among those personalities that performed during the awards night. Ash King, Harshdeep Kaur, Neha Bhasin, Anushka Manchanda, Tochi Raina, Shweta Pandit, Dominique and Clinton Cerejo, Kamal Khan, Suman Shridhar, Shefali Alvares, Benny Dayal and Ritu Pathak were among other celebrities at the Awards.


There were 24 categories of awards at the fourth Mirchi Music Awards. The winners were decided by a jury that consists of notable personalities from the Indian film and music industry – Javed Akhtar, Ramesh Sippy, Ashutosh Gowariker, Sooraj Barjatya, Prasoon Joshi, Sameer, Shankar Mahadevan, Anu Malik, Aadesh Srivastava, Lalit Pandit, Kailash Kher, Louis Banks, Kavita Krishnamurthy, Alka Yagnik, Sadhna Sargam, Suresh Wadkar, Talat Aziz and Ila Arun.


The Mirchi Music Awards – Winners List is as follows:

1. Best Programmer & Arranger – Abhijeet Nalani & Giorgio Tuinfort for Chammak Challo from RA One

2. Best Song Representing Sufi Tradition – Kun Faya Kun from Rockstar – A.R. Rahman, Javed Ali, Mohit Chauhan and Irshad Kamil

3. Best Raag Inspired Song – Khoya Kya from Kashmakash – Hariharan, Sanjoy Das, Raja Narayan Deb

4. Special Recognition to Pandit Channulal Misra

5. Best Upcoming Singer of the year Male – Kamal Khan for Ishq Sufiyana from The Dirty Picture

6. Best Upcoming Singer of the year Female – Tia Bajpai for Sheet Leher from Lanka

7. Best Upcoming Music Director of the year – Harshit Saxena for Hale Dil from Murder 2

8. Best Upcoming Lyricist of the Year – Seema Saini for Sheet Leher from Lanka

9. Best Song Recording – Vijay Dayal and Mark ‘Exit’ Goodchild for Chammak Challo from Ra One

10. Best Background Score – Ram Sampath for Delhi Belly

11. Best Item Number Song – Ooh La La from The Dirty Picture – Bappi Lahiri, Shreya Ghoshal, Rajat Arora and Vishal-Shekhar

12. Best Album of the Golden Era – Awaara (Shankar Jaikishen and Raj Kapoor)

13. Royal Stag Make it Large Award – Dhanush and Anirudh – Special Award

14. Jury Award for Outstanding Contribution to Hind Film Music – Babla Shah

15. Best Indipop song – Mera Kya Hain Sab Hain Tera – Dil Ki Baatein – Javed Ali, Alaap Dudul Saikia & Ravi Basnet

16. Best Song of the Year Mirchi Listeners Choice – Nadaan Parinde from Rockstar – A.R. Rahman, Mohit Chauhan and Irshad Kamil

17. Best Album of the Year – Mirchi Listeners Choice – Rockstar

18. Best Lyricist – Javed Akhtar for Khaabon Ke Parinde from Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

19. Best Music Director – A.R. Rahman for Nadaan Parindey from Rockstar

20. Best Female vocalist – Sunidhi Chauhan for Ishq Sufiyana from The Dirty Picture

21. Best Male Vocalist – Kamal Khan for Ishq Sufiyana from The Dirty Picture

22. Best Song of the year – Senorita by Shankar Ehsaan Loy

23. Best Album of the Year – Rockstar

24. Lifetime Achievement Award – Khayyam


Post a Comment 

One response to “Rockstar wins album of the year at Radio Mirchi Awards”

  1. Ovationshoes says:


Today's Top Stories