UEFA media rights announced

05 Oct,2011

By A Correspondent

UEFA has announced the award of 2012-15 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League media rights to various territories in Asia.

Malaysia and Brunei: Pay television operator Astro has been awarded exclusive media rights for the 2012-15 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League. Football fans in Malaysia and Brunei will be able to see live at least six UEFA Champions League and at least four UEFA Europa League matches per matchweek, as well as highlights and delayed match coverage for both competitions each week. Astro will exploit the rights across its Astro SuperSport pay platform throughout the territories. UEFA would like to thank long-time partner, incumbent UEFA Champions League rights holder ESPN Star Sports for its valued contribution to the competition.

Indian Subcontinent: Ten Sports, operated by Taj TV, has renewed its exclusive rights for the 2012-15 UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League. Ten Sports will broadcast live at least four matches per matchweek, as well as delayed coverage and highlights for both club competitions. Live and delayed broadcasts of the matches will be available on Ten Sports and Ten Action+, with highlights being broadcast on Ten Sports. Ten Sports has acquired the rights across all broadcast platforms which shall enable it to reach significant audiences throughout India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Nepal, Bhutan, Afghanistan and Bangladesh.

Myanmar: S Media has been granted all rights to the 2012-15 UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League. S Media will broadcast live at least six matches per matchweek on its pay television channels, as well as highlights and delayed coverage, in respect of both the UEFA Champions League and the UEFA Europa League.

All rights have been granted on a platform-neutral basis, so all broadcast partners will exploit the rights via television, internet and mobile.

Commenting on the award of these media rights in Asia, UEFA said:

“The media rights sales process is successfully continuing in Asia, reflecting the growing interest for UEFA’s club football competitions in the region. UEFA is happy to announce these deals as they will enable football fans throughout the respective territories to enjoy increased levels of match choice and coverage of both the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League”

Meanwhile, Ten Sports has been signed as the national broadcast partner for the I-League 2011-2012 season by IMG Reliance.

Known for its global coverage of football, cricket and motor sport, Ten Sports’ portfolio of channels includes Ten Sports, Ten Cricket, Ten Action+. For the 2011-2012 I-League season Ten Sports, will broadcast 75 league games live on Ten Action+.

Speaking on the initiative a spokesperson from IMG Reliance, commented, “We are happy to confirm Ten Sports as the National Broadcaster for the 2011-12 season of I-League as part of our ongoing efforts to develop the following of the sport in India. We are committed to pursuing various initiatives as part of our strategic plan to enhance the level of competition as also harness the domestic football talent in the country. Ten Sports shares our vision for the sport in India and we are delighted to partner with them in bringing football into the homes of fans across the nation.”

Mr Atul Pande, CEO, Ten Sports, said, “We are delighted to be associated with IMG Reliance, to telecast the I-League , India’s premier’s football tournament.”  He further added, “We are committed to bringing the   best sports action to our viewers, and this new agreement with the IMG Reliance reaffirms our commitment to grow the sports business and consolidate our position as the leading sports broadcaster. Zee and Ten have been supporters of Indian football for many years and we continue committed to our vision of enhancing and adding value to the sport “

AIFF General Secretary Mr Kushal Das expressed great satisfaction to have Ten Action+ as  the national broadcast partner of the I-League for 2011-12. He added “Ten Action + is a niche football channel and I am sure the visibility and on air promotional activities of the channel will go a long way in enhancing the profile of the I-League . Our partners IMG RIL deserve all credit for forging this significant partnership.”

The I-League kicks off on October 22, 2011 and runs until the end of April 2012. Fourteen teams participate in the League which comprises 182 matches across 26 rounds. Started in 2007, the I-League replaced the National Football League, which ran for 11 seasons. The winner of the I-League qualifies for the AFC Champions League qualifying round.

Post a Comment 

Comments are closed.

Today's Top Stories